Wichitas are a bloomin’

IMG_0199.jpg

Parents, take note: if you haven’t taken the time to explore your own state, your kids will suffer. The Wichita mountains are part of the Wichita Wildlife Refuge. The Refuge is home to free-range bison and longhorn cattle, prairie dogs, wild turkeys, and a plethora of other life. I just went down Sunday. The wildflowers are just starting to bloom and should be full within a couple of weeks. This is, by far, my favorite part of Oklahoma. I’ve just returned from a Sunday day trip. We drove around to the backside of Elk Mountain and hiked around Lost Lake. It was a joy to watch my daughter and friend run off trail and explore the rocks…

Pardon while I rant a bit on exploring… it never fails to amaze when I hear from my Oklahoma friends and friends of my family that they’ve never been to the Wichitas. I suppose it would be like growing up in Colorado and never visiting the Rockies. Democratic citizenship requires an appreciation of your home. To be engaged in your community starts in your own backyard. Kids should be encouraged to explore their neighborhood and town, and parents should take the time to visit their own state. If you don’t think your state has beautiful places to see, you need to open your eyes. Go visit your state tourism office. It’s not just for visitors.

DF425E44-F560-4984-B301-86A9CD421B24.jpgBack to the Wichitas…The hiking is absolutely wonderful. There are numerous trails, often not clearly marked, so some guidance is valuable. The park office can help, but for those who haven’t grown up with the Refuge, Alan Thode’s book, Hiking the Wichitas, is worth every penny. I’ve visited at least twice a year for the past 20, and still have much to discover. May is the best time, IMHO, to visit, but I’ve been in every season and have never regretted the trip. If you’ve been, tell me your favorite places!

One response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *