“Do you think God gets stoned? I think so . . . look at the platypus.”

Inbox - Microsoft Outlook — Boot Camp partition.jpg(A quote from Robin Williams.) I love biology, but I must admit, the platypus must have been one David Attenborough broadcast I missed. I came across this posting from the National Science Foundation:

Platypus Genome Decoded: Genome may yield clues about evolution and disease prevention.

Umm.. what? Well, it turns out that the platypus is one quite remarkable animal. I did recognize the picture, and always figured it to be some relative of the beaver. In reality, it is, as the report goes…

Platypus DNA is a combination of reptiles, birds and mammals.

And the traits follow suit: Venom (reptile), eggs (birds), and lactation (mammals). Like any young scientist, my first curiosity points to the venom. Venom? Cool! Wikipedia provides some interesting tidbits. Apparently, the venom come from a spur on the male’s hind limbs.

Remind me not to grab a platypus by the feet.

One response

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *